Log in

Log in

Nearly Half of Louisiana’s Senate is Already Seated Weeks Out from October Elections

August 23, 2023 9:11 AM | Shelly Dupre (Administrator)

As of this week, eight Democrats and 11 Republicans have been elected to Louisiana’s 39-member Senate because they faced no opposition or candidate challenges.  

That means a Senate supermajority won’t be a heavy lift for the Republican Party this cycle. The tally also means roughly half of the Legislature’s upper chamber has already been seated—seven and a half weeks before Election Day.

With the exception of Rep. Jean-Paul Coussan, who will move into Lafayette’s Senate District 23, all others elected so far are incumbents, including Sens. Regina Barrow, Gerald Boudreaux, Joe Bouie, Gary Carter, Heather Cloud, Royce Duplessis, Cleo Fields, Franklin Foil, Jimmy Harris, Bob Hensgens, Eddie Lambert, Jay Luneau, Patrick McMath, Jay Morris, Mike Reese, Jeremy Stine, Kirk Talbot and Glenn Womack. 

For the latest on these races, and much more, visit www.SOS.La.Gov

Source: Jeremy Alford, LA Politics

2041 Silverside Drive 
Baton Rouge, LA 70808

Search our Site

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software